Olfactory Receptors and the Regulation of Renal Function

2. jennifer headshot jpeg
Jennifer L. Pluznick
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Nov. 30 13:40~14:20


Olfactory receptors (ORs) are 7-transmembrane G-protein coupled receptors which, when expressed in the olfactory epithelium, play a pivotal role in the sense of smell.  However, recent studies have highlighted important roles played by ORs in a variety of other tissues.  As sensitive chemical sensors, ORs are utilized by a number of tissues in the body to detect changes or fluctuations in a variety of chemicals, metabolites, and other substances.  Our group is particularly interested in a role for ORs in the kidney, which is a central control point for homeostasis.  We have identified ORs which play roles in renal processes, including renal glucose handling.  The kidney normally reabsorbs all glucose from the initial filtrate, so that no glucose is lost in the final urine.  We have found that Olfr1393, a renal olfactory receptor, has a role to modulate this process by interacting with a sodium/glucose cotransporter on the apical membrane of the renal proximal tubule.  In this presentation, we will focus on the role of Olfr1393 in modulating renal glucose handling in health and disease.



  • 2005-2010, Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept. of Cellular and Molecular Physiology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT
  • 2005, Ph.D., Renal Physiology, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • 2000, B.A., Biology, Truman State University, Kirksville, MO


Professional Career

  • 2017-Present, Associate Professor, Dept. of Physiology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD
  • 2010-2017, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physiology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD



  • 2016, Nominee for the PECASE Award (Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers)
  • 2016, APS Lazaro J. Mandel Young Investigator Award (FASEB; $6500 for research)
  • 2015, APS Shih-Chun Wang Young Investigator Award (FASEB; $7000 for research)
  • 2015, APS Renal Section New Investigator Award (FASEB)
  • 2013, APS Renal Section Research Recognition Award (FASEB)
  • 2008, APS Renal Section Postdoctoral Excellence in Renal Research Award. (FASEB)
  • 2007, APS Caroline Tum Suden/Francis Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award, (FASEB)
  • 2005, Alice L. Cummings Award in Physiology (University of Nebraska Medical Center)
  • 2004, Procter & Gamble Professional Opportunity Award, APS-Renal Section (FASEB)
  • 2004, American Physiological Society (APS) Renal Section Predoctoral Excellence in Renal Research Award – First Place (Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, FASEB)