Single-molecule studies of DNA mismatch repair

N_04_Jong-Bong Lee(photo)
Jong-Bong Lee

Abstract :

DNA mismatch repair (MMR) is a catalytic reaction of a strand-specific degradation and resynthesis dependent on the mismatch by coordination of sequential signaling pathways. Mutation of MutS homolog (MSH) and MutL homolog (MLH/PMS) of MMR components results in elevate mutation rates and susceptibility to a variety of cancers. MSH binding to mismatched nucleotides transmits the mismatch-finding signal ultimately to a distant strand scission site. To remove the mismatch, the excision reaction proceeds from the strand break to the mismatch either in the 5’ or 3’ direction. These two distinct mechanisms of the strand excision have commonly raised a mechanical question of how the excision reaction is terminated since no component in the excision machinery recognizes the mismatch after the excision begins.

The Novel Prize in Chemistry 2015 was awarded jointly for mechanistic studies of DNA repair including MMR. However critical problems in the mechanism of MMR have been highly controversial for decades. Our single-molecule analyses have revealed the dynamic molecular processes in MMR, which has leaded us to address a variety of questions in MMR. I will introduce how we have successfully explored the controversial problems in MMR using single-molecule approaches.


Professional Activities

  • 2013-2014 Visiting Professor Department of Virology, Immunology & Medical Genetics, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA
  • 2011-Present Associate Professor Department of Physics and School of Interdisciplinary Bioscience & Bioengineering, POSTECH, Pohang, Korea
  • 2007-2011 Assistant Professor Department of Physics, POSTECH, Pohang, Korea
  • 2004-2007 Postdoctoral Research Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA
  • 2004 Ph.D Department of Physics, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, USA


Awards & Honors

  • 2013 The silver prize in the 19th Samsung HumanTech Paper Award(Adviser award)
  • 2011-2016 Outstanding Young Faculty Grant Award by Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning