Spin on Nano!

Stuart Parkin
Stuart Parkin
IBM-Stanford Spintronic Science & Applications Center (SpinAps)
December 6, 2012, 11:10 ~ 11:50

Abstract :

The spin of the electron strongly influences or even controls the state of matter in a wide variety of materials including ferromagnets, superconductors and antiferromagnetic Mott insulators. Subtle changes in structure or changes in external conditions such as temperature or pressure or, perhaps, more interestingly, from a technological perspective, current, electric field, or voltage can cause dramatic changes in properties of such spin-based materials, even phase transitions. I will discuss several examples of spin-based phenomena that lead to novel nano-devices. These include Racetrack Memory, a novel storage-class memory that has potential the replace magnetic hard disk drive and many forms of conventional solid-state memories such as FLASH memory. Racetrack Memory makes use of the current controlled motion of a series of domain walls to and fro along magnetic nano-wires – the Racetracks. When the current is spin-polarized the spin-polarized electrons deliver spin angular momentum to the domain walls, thereby moving them. A radically different “Spin on Nano” is the electric field induced insulator to metal transition in Mott-Hubbard insulators. Further out, it may be possible, by engineering their spin structure, to create new nano- materials that superconduct at much higher temperatures than currently achievable.


Research Interests :

Spintronics, Magnetic Heterostructures, Superconductivity, Complex oxides


Prizes :

  • Materials Research Society Outstanding Young Investigator Award (1991)
  • American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials (1994)
  • Europhysics Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics (1997)
  • American Institute of Physics Prize for Industrial Application of Physics (1999)
  • Elected Fellow, The Royal Society of London (2000)
  • R& D Innovator of the Year Award (2001)
  • IEEE Daniel E. Nobel Award (2008)
  • IBM Corporate Awards (2000, 2002, 2008)
  • Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences of USA (2008)
  • Elected Member, National Academy of Engineering of USA (2009)
  • Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2009)
  • IUPAP Magnetism Prize and Neel Medal (2009)
  • American Physical Society David Adler Lectureship Award (2012)
  • Elected, Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (2012)
  • Von Hippel Award, Materials Research Society (2012)