Next Generation Rechargeable Battery Chemistries

Arumugam Manthiram
Arumugam Manthiram
The Univ. of Texas at Austin, USA
13:55~14:40, November 21st, 2014

Abstract :

Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionized the portable electronics market, and they are being intensively pursued for electric vehicles and grid storage. There is immense interest in increasing the energy and power while keeping the cost low and enhancing the cycle life and safety. Clearly development of new materials or battery chemistries at an affordable cost is needed for portable electronics, transportation, and stationary storage. Accordingly, this presentation will first focus on high-capacity, high-voltage layered and spinel oxide cathodes and safer, dense nanocomposite alloy anodes for traditional lithium-ion batteries. The importance of controlling the surface planes/structure and bulk/surface compositions with these electrode materials to realize the necessary electrochemical-performance parameters will be emphasized. The presentation will then focus on high-energy, high-power lithium-sulfur and hybrid lithium-air batteries. With the lithium-sulfur batteries, novel sulfur-carbon nanocomposite electrode structures as well as new cell configurations with a carbon-paper interlayer between the cathode and the separator or carbon-coated bifunctional separators that offer high energy, high power, and long cycle life will be presented. With the hybrid lithium-air batteries in which the lithium-metal anode in a nonaqueous electrolyte is separated from the air cathode in an aqueous catholyte by a ceramic lithium-ion conducting electrolyte membrane, optimum catholyte systems as well as development of inexpensive electrocatalysts for the oxygen reduction reaction (ORR) and oxygen evolution reaction (OER) will be presented. Particularly, nanocarbon architectures as ORR catalysts and oxide nanostructures as OER catalysts will be presented.


Research Interests

Dr. Manthiram’s research is focused on materials for rechargeable batteries, fuel cells, and supercapacitors


Awards and Honors

  • 2014 : Battery Division Research Award, Electrochemical Society
  • 2012 : Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award, UT-Austin
  • 2011 : Fellow, Electrochemical Society
  • 2011 : Outstanding Teaching Award, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 2009 – present : Joe C. Walter, Jr. Chair in Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 2008 – 2009 : Jack S. Josey Professorship in Energy Studies, UT-Austin
  • 2006 – 2009 : BFGoodrich Endowed Professorship in Materials Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 2004 : Fellow, American Ceramic Society
  • 2002 – 2006 : Ashley H. Priddy Centennial Professorship in Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 1998 – 2002 : Charlotte Maer Patton Centennial Fellowship in Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 1996 : Mechanical Engineering Department Faculty Leadership Award, UT-Austin
  • 1994 : Faculty Excellence Award, College of Engineering, UT-Austin
  • 1978 – 1981 : Fellowship, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, India
  • 1976 : First Rank in M. S. degree among 60 students
  • 1976 : Chief Minister Bhaktavatsalam Commemoration Award